How to Become a Police Officer in Arkansas

A police officer is someone who prevents unlawful acts as wells as protect the citizens from any dangers and crimes. Basically they maintain public order including traffic rules and has the authority to arrest and detain anyone who violates the law. A few police officers are even trained to respond in a more advanced type of emergency or crisis situation such as terrorism, VIP protection and assist in the investigation of a major crime scenes. In general they make sure that law and regulations are being followed by the people in the state of Arkansas.

The application process and the steps how to become a police officer in Arkansas are as follows:

Minimum Qualifications

  • 21 years old
  • Citizen of the United States
  • Valid driver’s license
  • High school diploma or GED
  • Not convicted to felony or any misdemeanor crime
  • Physically fit
    • vision 20/20 corrected
    • vision 20/100 uncorrected
    • strong endurance
    • no impairment
  • No visible tattoos upon wearing the uniform
  • Pass the initial test
    • Screening exam

Examination

Must pass all the tests

  • Physical assessment Exam (sit-ups, push-ups, standing long jump, runs)
  • Written Exam ( Protection Services Selection Battery Exam)
  • Polygraph
  • Oral interview (with the committee)
  • Medical exam with a doctor
  • Psychology test with a doctor
  • Background check

Training

The candidate must attend a training from a training school run by the Arkansas State Police. They will be trained to learn and do the following:

  • Investigation in vehicular accidents, crime scene
  • Criminal law
  • Patrolling operations
  • Human Diversity
  • Police procedures
  • Handling of evidence
  • Firearms
  • First Aid

Upon completing the training there will be a probationary period of 18 months, if the department sees and feels that the officer is not competent for the job he/she will be discharge without recourse.

Salary and Benefits

Wage: 36,000 dollars per annum
Benefits:

  • Health Insurance (the officer and his/her family)
  • Retirement contribution paid by the state
  • Uniform, firearms and accessories
  • Overtime pay
  • Vacation:
    • 3 years – 1 day a month (8 hours)
    • 4-5 years – 1 day and 2 hours (10 hours)
    • 6-12 years – 1 day and 4 hours (12 hours)
    • 13-20 years – 1 day and 6 hours (14 hours)
    • 20 years and above – 1 day and 7 hours (15 hours)
  • Sick leave: annual of 12 days and a maximum of 120 days

Resources: